Be tough. Be strong.

This evening’s run was not one of my favorites,

but it was definitely a good one.

I only ran 3 miles and did intervals of 4 minutes running, 1 minute walking.

It was hot, my lips were mostly chapped,

and my pre-run half a bagel was probably not the best snack choice.

Due to the weather, there wasn’t much people watching today either.

Most of the time, when the beeps sounded for my walks,

I was thankful.

But I promise, it was a good run.

Starting from scratch isn’t always fun,

but today I was reminded how much running disciplines me.

It toughens the mind and makes the heart feel strong.

On runs like today, when I am mostly coaching myself to keep going,

it is the end of the run that is the most satisfying.

As my stomach ached and I licked my chapped lips,

my mantra became “Be strong. Be tough.”

For I could remember days long ago when I was just a running newbie,

and may have given in to the negatives surrounding this run.

These are the runs that train me so I can have the best runs.

The hard work of today will pay off tomorrow.

This evening’s run was not one of my favorites,

but it was definitely a good one.

Leave a Reply

