Long Live the Kings

I think I have said this before,

but I’m a fan of the underdog.

There is just something about the fight

that lies within the one whom everyone counts out.

Tonight I sat and watched the entire

State of the City address by Kevin Johnson.

I’m a Sacramento native yet I never am one to get behind politics.

But tonight, I was glued to my television.

For the fate of my favorite sports team,

the Sacramento Kings,

is in limbo, and Kevin Johnson is our city’s Superman

when it comes to this issue.

Listening to his words, to his plan,

brought me moments of “Whoop-whoop!” cheers

and I am not shy to admit, at one point,

a few held back tears.

And for a moment I thought,

Is this how people who are gaga over politics feel when they

hear Obama speak?

Because I felt it.  I was sucked in.  I was moved and inspired.

For me, the Kings are more than just a team.

They are memories and cherished moments I get to spend with my family.

And I sincerely hope that after this fight,

the underdog known as Sacramento

prevails.

The Kings have been in Sacramento since 1985,

a year after I was born.

And though I probably attended my first game around age 5,

I’ve been a fan, thick and think, for 23 years.

I can remember sitting in those red plastic seats,

my feet unable to even touch the ground.

Back then, I probably was more interested in the cotton candy and sweets,

but year by year, my interest and love for this game grew.

Not only did I get to share some memorable moments with my dear old Dad,

but I learned the ins and outs of the game.

I’d plop my cereal bowl in front of the sports page in the morning,

memorizing stats to share with the boys at school so I’d look cool.

For a girl who knew her sports stats was way cooler

than the girl who spent hours practicing piano or ballet.

My favorite players may changed from season to season,

Walt Williams, Spud Webb, Tyus Edney, Doug Christie,

but my love for the team only grew and grew.

To think this team could leave my beloved town of Sacramento

it honestly brings a shortness of breath.

Last April, the day of the “Last Game”

I sat in the parking lot before walking in to work to call my Daddy.

I cried because I’d be sharing that evening’s game with my boyfriend

rather than sharing “one last” game with him.

Little did I know, there’d be a little hope around the corner.

The Kings stayed for one more season.

Which brings us to tonight’s State of the City.

Kevin Johnson is the Superman this city needed.

The Maloofs may be his Lux Luther

but I believe he’s going to make this thing happen one way or another.

I want to be able to share more games with my dad

and someday bring my kids to a Kings game.

We may be the underdogs.

People across the country may have counted us out.

But underdogs, they just don’t give up.

And Sacramento just won’t quit.

Not without a good fight.

DSCN0231 DSCN0233 DSCN0234 DSCN0237 DSCN0239 DSCN1292 DSCN1293 DSCN1297 DSCN1302 DSCN1015

One thought on “Long Live the Kings

Leave a Reply

