A day I won’t forget

When I think of the people who jumped out of buildings

instead of waiting for their death on that terrifying day

I still get goosebumps.

I was just sixteen.  But I remember that day clearly.

I woke up to get ready for school, to my mother staring at the television.

If you know my mother, she does not watch TV. It’s just not her thing.

That morning, however, she was glued.

“A plane crashed into the World Trade Center,” she had said.

“Tons of people are going to die.”

I swear, I thought the world was ending.

I had never seen her upset like this before.

Fast forward a few hours later.

I remember sitting in my car, listening to my favorite radio station

hearing them say that the second plane hit.

I can still hear the DJ’s voice vividly.

And then, forced to class, I was stunned

because instead of taking notes on a lecture,

we sat in front of the television.  Watching.

Then another hour later.

I’m out in the parking lot, decorating a friends car for her birthday.

It felt so wrong.  Helping someone celebrate this day,

when people were dying.

I am not still friends with her, but I always think of her on this day.

How would you feel to have this day as your birthday?

Does it feel strange?  Does it feel ruined?

As an educator, I feel it is important to share this day with my students.

Though I was not affected first hand, it still brings me some emotion.

How do you explain this horrific day to 9 year olds?

It’s tricky.  Yet, last year, a teacher blog I love to follow

posted this great Brain Pop video that puts it simply enough for them to understand,

yet doesn’t seem to leave anything out.

http://www.brainpop.com/socialstudies/ushistory/september11th/

If you are looking for a way to share this piece of history with your students,

I recommend this video.

It’s been 11 years, but I still haven’t forgotten.

 

2 thoughts on “A day I won’t forget

  1. I love this post. It was a very true and vivid day for me as well. I showed that video to my Kids and we did a KWL chart. None of my students had even heard of it, and I was a little shocked. I guess since they are only 7 it would make sense. And the shock on their little faces was a lot for me to handle. The look that appeared on their faces when they realized that horrible people exist in this world was heart breaking. They had been crushed. Part of me felt bad, but it’s the world that we unfortunately live in, and I felt they needed to know about it. 😦 Sad sad day.

    • It’s sad for me to know that years will go by and this day will just be another day in the history books for our students. Thinking about that day still gives me goosebumps and sometimes tears. Good work sharing this day with your students! Better to try, than not at all.

Leave a Reply

