Sewing some Independence

My abuela is an amazing seamstress.

Most projects, she doesn’t even need a pattern.

Only a vision in her head.

She forced me into sewing lessons at the local fabric store as a preteen.

At the time, I can’t say I was too thankful or impressed.

After all, most young girls spend their evenings watching the latest hip TV show

or go to swim practice or dance lessons.

Not me.

I can still hear the hum of the sewing machines in the back corner of the store.

I can vividly recall the Troll fabric I chose for a pair of culottes.

(Oh boy, can you tell I am a child from the early 90s?)

I was capable, but I was never too impressed with any of my final products.

Nor was I thankful for this treat to know the tricks of sewing.

Years later, my gratitude shines.

Abuela and I have become regulars at our local JoAnne’s Fabrics.

She loves to boast and brag to the ladies

at the fabric counter about our latest idea for a project.

“I’m teaching her how to sew!  Isn’t that wonderful!”

She says to them practically every time.

(This is not a joke, nor an exaggeration.)

Though sometimes I blush in embarrassment,

I am proud to say that I am learning to sew my own clothes.

If you recall from my 30 before 30 list

one of my dreams was to sew something

on my own or with minor help from my Abuela.

There is one downfall sewing with Abuela.

Sometimes she ends up sewing the whole project on her own,

after-the-fact realizing she forgot to teach me.

Well, a few weeks ago she went on a 3 week long trip to Miami,

left me the key to her house and gave me a challenge:

Sew something without her while she was gone.

I have to admit, this was not a  quick and dirty endeavor.

Choosing the perfect pattern and fabric took one hour alone!

But after a morning of sewing, seam ripping, and sewing some more,

I had sewed my very own skirt!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am also proud to share that I successfully altered

the pattern a little bit, by changing the belt waist!

Though I am also here to admit

that I lost my patience when it came time for the hem,

so I left it for Abuela to finish when she returned from her trip.

However, there was no greater satisfaction

than hearing her on the phone the day she came back.

“Gina, when I saw that skirt I was screaming!

 I couldn’t believe you did that all by yourself!”

Independence in Abuela’s eyes.  Finally.

The whole idea behind putting this on the list

was to prove to her (and to myself) that I can actually sew.

Well, here’s proof!

And another 30 before 30 item to check off the list!

May this inspire me to complete a few more before

I turn 28 in a few weeks.

2 thoughts on “Sewing some Independence

  1. Can’t wait to see you wear your own home made skirt at work one day! Great job! It looks amazing! My mom owns a fabric store with some awesome fabrics in Folsom, you should check it out!

Leave a Reply

