reality check

They say you learn something new every day…

Well, here are the things I learned while swimming in this gorgeous pool this afternoon:

1. I suck at freestyle!

Holy crap!  I honestly didn’t realize how hard this

swim stroke really is!  No joke – I made it 3/4 of the way across the pool before I

couldn’t bear to plant my face in the water and continue proper form.

Weak sauce!

Which led me to #2..

2. I’ve decided that swimmers do not get enough credit.

No, seriously, they don’t.  One of my summer bucket list items was to spend

a TON of time by the pool. (The one above in particular.)

And I am proud to say I have.

Though I cannot say that I have spent a lot of time in the pool

actually working on fitness and cross training like I should be.

Yowza.  Swimming kicks your butt!!!

Let’s just say I enjoyed a nap after my swim today.

A happy little shout out to any swimmers out there.  You’re amazing!

3. Injuries have a lot of highs and lows.  And because of that,

you have to have a good attitude.  Which is very difficult.

I will say that I am VERY lucky that my injury is not painful.

It’s just annoying and nagging.

And trust me, if it hurt, I’d be crying like a baby.

After all, I cry about being sick.

So I guess this is a good thing that I’m not crying.

Back to the point.  Today was a combination of highs and lows.

I had a major high while swimming (and getting my ass kicked…)

because swimming is shockingly fun!

I was panting like your dog on a hot summer day, but I was having fun!

But my freakin’ leg was obviously not happy with me afterwards.

I keep making vows that I’m “taking a break” when lows like this come around,

but honestly, I can never follow through.

So here is yet another pretend proclamation for now:

I’m taking a break from running until after Disneyland.

Which gives me about a week and half.

Ha!

We’ll see how long this lasts!

And with that thought…came #4

4. Don’t forget about your mantras, even if they are in a different context.

I have a few running mantras:

Warriors don’t quit.

and

Be strong!

I guess even though I’ve been having to take it easy,

I can’t give up on the above words.

I won’t give up.  And, I am strong.

I saw a really awesome quote on Pinterest today,

“Turn a setback into a comeback.”

LOVE THIS!

If ‘warriors don’t quit,’ they don’t let setbacks get in the way.

They find a way to thrive anyway.

So, the chin is up.  I forge on.

What’d you learn about yourself today?

One thought on “reality check

  1. You are one of my true idols in running, and I know you are going to do amazing things as soon as you are healed – but you honestly don’t give yourself enough credit! You ran 9 miles the other day and were looking 100% afterwards to me! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

