put words into action

I guess it was time for me to take some of my own advice.

Starting over is hard!

And I had forgotten that.

Today was only my second run after a long month of not really running.

Usually I run about a 9:40 minute mile, and before I got injured,

I was hoping to be a 9:15-9:30 regular.

Well, there went that.

Now I’m back at the beginning.

But as I was running today, feeling out of shape and huffing and puffing,

I remembered the words I always share with a runner friend of mine,

Our worst runs prepare us for the best runs!

With over a half mile to go, I started talking myself out of finishing it out.

Well, you should probably take it easy.  You are starting over.

But then, I remembered those words I always preach to my friend

and any new runners for that matter!

How could I not follow through?

So these were the words of motivation this morning:

This run is only going to make me stronger for tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “put words into action

  1. I know you. Now I can’t say that I know you SUPER well. But I know you enough in your running life, and professional life to know that you are not a quitter, and as I read your words about possibly not finishing your last 1/2 mile, i silently routed for you (I think I may have actually whispered aloud). The best thing about you is you never give up and are always going for bigger and better. So you may have slowed down. It’s only your 2nd run. In a month, you will be back up to speed and be begging that Dr. of yours to let you go big or go home. I can’t wait to see you on Saturday’s again, and would love to come and cheer you on at your marathon. I know you can do it!

    • Thanks, Stace. Seriously it feels like I’m about to climb Mount Everest or something! I keep asking myself, whyyyy exactly are you doing this again? But then I think about crossing the finish line and instantly I feel so inspired!!! I’d love to see you along the race!! That’d be awesome! In the meantime, here goes nothing! Thanks for always cheering me on friend!

Leave a Reply

