today i feel thankful

Today I feel thankful.

When Eeyore’s cloud of doom floats above you for a few days

and then finally disappears, life feels pretty darn sunny.

I only ran for 20 minutes today.

Trying my best to follow “the doctor’s orders.”

But I was so darn thankful for those 20 minutes.

And my knee thanked me all day long.

Hopefully I’ll be back to normal real soon

and the real training can begin.

And I am thankful for that.

I spent the day with my boyfriend

playing in Old Sacramento and enjoying lunch by the water and

with a great view of the Tower Bridge.

We laughed.  A lot.

I cherish the moments he makes me laugh so hard I can’t speak.

We visited silly little shops and made a stop at a comic book store on the way home.

Even when we say nothing at all, I enjoy every minute.

He’s pretty much the best guy ever.

(Not to mention he drove this little girl all around town this week while I was carless.

No complaints.  No pouting.  Just did it.  He’s awesome.)

I’m thankful for him.

And then tonight I caught up with an old friend that I haven’t seen in awhile.

I felt bad that it has been some time since we last saw one another,

and was hoping that we’d still have things to say

or that our jokes would still make the other crack up laughing.

But of course, things were still the same.  And those are the best types of friendships.

That’s how you can tell you’ve got a true friend.

The best part of the night was when we jinxed one another

in the middle of a conversation.

So thankful to know we’ve still got it.

Today was a nice reminder

that there is always something to be thankful for.

4 thoughts on “today i feel thankful

  1. Your relationship sounds amazing, like something people dream of! I could hear the love in your words. I’m happy for you!

  2. Pingback: my summer mottos « runningmylifemyworld

Leave a Reply

