here’s hoping

I’m going to admit I’ve been in a little bit of denial lately.

I have been so excited to get started on my training

that I’ve been ignoring the fact that my IT band and knee are

not very happy with me right now.

I did reduce my mileage at first.

And then I took a little break.  A little one.

I saw a physical therapist, who also told me to take a break.

“A week and a half is not a break,” she said.

However, I’ve been trying to just “take care of it myself.”

Which I don’t think is working anymore.

So here I am, grumpy. Bitter.  Annoyed.

All I want right now is to run.

And I really can’t.

  —

I think this is the exact reason I was not too keen on signing up for a marathon.

Because I knew once I told people, there’d be no turning back.

And now there’s no turning back.  Except that I can’t even start training yet.

Boo. How lame!

 

 I’d like to call myself a positive person.

I’m a “glass is half full” kinda girl.

But right now, not so much.

They say God doesn’t give you anything you can’t handle,

so apparently I can handle this.

But right now, it’s not so fun.

I honestly am trying to distract myself as much as I can.

Reading a TON. Swimming and getting tan.

Focusing on abs and arm strengthening.

But honestly, all I want to do is run.

Boo.

Well, here’s saying goodbye to denial,

and here’s hoping.

8 thoughts on “here’s hoping

  1. The one thing I kept thinking while reading this is that you are in amazon shape already! I have faith that when your knee and band are healed (completely) that your training will sky rocket! And if I know you, you are going to focus and push yourself and give it all you’ve got. I believe in you and can’t wait to hear about your training over the next 6 months!!!

  2. So I got sucked into those Versatile Blogger Awards and nominated you on my blog, feel free to check it out or ignore, I just like taking the chance to share blogs I enjoy reading, like yours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

