Take your marks…

So today is the beginning.

Today starts my actual training for the CIM,

California International Marathon.

My first marathon ever!

A few weeks ago, when I began sharing with people

that I am taking the plunge to run my first marathon,

I was shaking in my bones!

What the hell did I get myself into?  Am I really going to be able to do this?

Well, a few weeks later, and here I am with a new attitude.

Confident.  Ready.  Excited.

Feeling a little bad ass even!

I snuck in my 5 miler this morning

along the bike trail with a good friend.

We ran early to beat the 108 scorcher

that was creeping in on Sacramento today.

My knee felt good, and I was excited just to complete

any sort of “long run” today since it’s been so long since my last.

Though I wasn’t pushing myself

because I’m working on being nice to my body while training,

I was on a high just to be out on the trail

RUNNING.

But I ran thinking,

Remember this feeling.

Because I know the road ahead is not going to be easy.

I know the confidence may not last the whole way through.

I will stay tough.  I will stay strong.  I can do this!

I vow to carry the memory of the buzz I felt this morning

with me on the rough days and do whatever it takes

to cross that finish line.

Ready. Set. Go!

2 thoughts on “Take your marks…

  1. Congrats on your first training day! “Remember this feeling” is SUCH a good, positive approach. Sometimes my inner critic gets the best of me on a bad training day, but this is a good way to fight him off. Here’s to cooler weather for you and happy running!

Leave a Reply

