the fight

It’s not the size of the dog in the fight,
but the size of the fight in the dog.

Well, people, let me tell you
this girl’s got fight!
I am doing all I can to power through
these last few weeks of school.

Track meet trials.
State testing.
Friend’s wedding Saturday.
Half marathon this Sunday.
State testing again.
Track meet finals.
End of the year benchmarks.
Then four weeks of school left.

I’ve got this!

Teaching is like a marathon.
You feel like a rockstar during some of the miles.
Then a few more later, 
you want nothing more than a glimpse of that finish line.
All you can do in the meantime,
is give yourself a little pep talk,
drink some more water,
and keep on truckin’.

One of the mantras I use during races sometimes is:
Warriors don’t quit.

So, with one foot in front of the other, I proceed.
The kids are exhausted from testing
and are just about checked out.
(That’s what 5th grade-itis will do to your students.)
But I won’t let them give up either.
It’s time to embrace the end of the school year fun.
Art projects.
Science Experiments.
Field trips.


It feels so far away.
But I’ve got this!

Warriors don’t quit.


Leave a comment